Genève-Paris, le 15 mars 2012. Les 8 et 9 mars 2012, l’Observatoire pour la protection des défenseurs des droits de l’Homme, un programme conjoint de la Fédération internationale des ligues des droits de l’Homme (FIDH) et de l’Organisation mondiale contre la torture (OMCT), a organisé la quatrième réunion “inter-mécanismes”, à l’invitation du Haut-commissariat des Nations unies aux droits de l’Homme (HCDH) à Genève (Suisse).

A cette occasion, les mécanismes et programmes internationaux et régionaux de protection des défenseurs des droits de l’Homme – opérant au sein des Nations unies, de la Commission africaine des droits de l’Homme et des peuples (CADHP), du Conseil de l’Europe, de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’Homme (CIDH) et du Bureau des institutions démocratiques et des droits de l’Homme de l’OSCE – rejoints par des représentants de l’Union européenne, de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie et d’ONG, ont discuté de la rédaction d’un rapport conjoint sur ​​les normes et recommandations existantes relatives à la protection des défenseurs des droits de l’Homme aux niveaux international et régional. La CIDH a proposé de jouer un rôle de coordination dans la rédaction du rapport, avec le soutien de l’Observatoire. Ce rapport s’inspirera du Commentaire de 2011 de la Déclaration des Nations unies sur les défenseurs des droits de l’Homme par la Rapporteure spéciale des Nations unies sur les défenseurs et du deuxième rapport de la CIDH sur la situation des défenseurs des droits de l’Homme. Un tel document, le premier de ce genre, constituera non seulement un instrument utile aux défenseurs, aux Etats et aux autres parties prenantes concernées, mais démontrera également une unité d’approches entre les mécanismes. (suite…)

Les Rapporteurs sur les défenseurs des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies (ONU), de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples (CADHP) et de la Commission Interaméricaine des Droits de l’Homme (CIDH) expriment leur grave préoccupation face aux actes de représailles contre les particuliers et les groupes qui cherchent à coopérer avec les systèmes de protection des droits de l’homme régionaux et/ou de l’ONU. Ces représailles contre des particuliers et/ou des groupes qui engagent un dialogue direct avec l’ONU, la CADHP et la CIDH, ou qui autrement fournissent des informations sur la situation des droits de l’homme dans des pays particuliers, prennent la forme de campagnes de diffamation, de harcèlement, d’intimidations, de menaces directes, d’agressions physiques et d’assassinats.

L’ONU, la CADHP et la CIDH ont chacun des accords normatifs et des règles de procédure interdisant explicitement les actes de représailles commis par des acteurs étatiques et non-étatiques.1/ Afin de préserver la collaboration vitale entre la société civile et les mécanismes des droits de l’homme régionaux et de l’ONU, les Rapporteurs sur les défenseurs de droits de l’homme s’engagent et appellent à accroître surveillance et action pour le respect de ces règles, et soutiennent l’initiative prise récemment par la Présidente du Conseil des Droits de l’Homme de l’ONU qui demande aux Etats de mettre un terme immédiat au harcèlement et à l’intimidation des particuliers et des groupes présents à la 19ème session du Conseil des Droits de l’Homme.2/ (suite…)

La Rapporteure spéciale de la Commission africaine des droits de l’Homme et des peuples sur la situation des défenseurs des droits de l’Homme en Afrique, Mme Lucy Asuagbor, effectuera une mission de Promotion en République Centrafricaine du 6 au 16 juin 2011.

18 March 2011 – The Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission), Honorable Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou, will be leading a high level Delegation to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The objective of the joint promotion mission is two pronged:

· firstly, to promote the African Charter, exchange views, and share experiences with the Government of the DRC, and the major human rights stakeholders in the country on how to enhance the

enjoyment of human rights in the country; and

· secondly, to identify progress and challenges, and follow up on various reports/information before the African Commission regarding the human rights situation in the DRC. (suite…)

123

Geneva-Paris, March 15, 2012. On March 8 and 9, 2012, the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders, a joint programme of the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH) and the World Organisation Against Torture (OMCT), organised the fourth “inter-mechanisms” meeting, which was hosted by the Office of the United Nations (UN) High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) in Geneva, Switzerland.

On that occasion, international and regional mechanisms and programmes for the protection of human rights defenders – operating within the United Nations, the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (ACHPR), the Council of Europe, the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) and the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights – joined by representatives of the European Union, the International Organisation of the Francophonie and various NGOs, discussed the drafting of a joint report on existing standards and recommendations related to the protection of human rights defenders at the international and regional levels. IACHR offered to take a coordinating role in drafting the report, with the back up of the Observatory. This report would be inspired by the 2011 Commentary of the UN Declaration on Human Rights Defenders by the UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders and the IACHR Second Report on the Situation of Human Rights Defenders. Such a document, the first of its kind, will not only be a useful tool to human rights defenders, States and other relevant stakeholders, but will also demonstrate a unity of approaches among mechanisms. (more…)

 

The Rapporteurs on Human Rights Defenders from the United Nations (UN), the African Commission on Human and People’s Rights (ACHPR) and the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) express their grave concern over acts of reprisals against individuals and groups seeking to cooperate with the UN and/or the regional human rights systems. These reprisals against individuals and/or groups engaging directly with the UN, the ACHPR and the IACHR, or otherwise providing information on particular countries’ human rights situation, take the form of smear campaigns, harassment, intimidation, direct threats, physical attacks and killings.

The UN, the ACHPR and the IACHR all have normative agreements and rules of procedure explicitly prohibiting acts of reprisals by States and non-State actors.1/In an effort to safeguard the vital collaboration between civil society and the UN and regional human rights mechanisms, the Rapporteurs on human rights defenders commit to and call for enhanced monitoring and action to respect those rules, and support the recent initiative by the President of the UN Human Rights Council to call on States to immediately put an end to intimidation and harassment of individuals and groups attending the 19th session of the Human Rights Council.2/ (more…)

 

Promotion Mission of the ACHPR SR on HRDs in CAR

The Special Rapporteur of the African Commission on Human and Peoples Rights on the situation of human rights defenders in Africa, Mrs. Lucy Asuagbor, will undertake a promotion mission from 6 to 16 June 2011 in Central African Republic.

 

18 March 2011 – The Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission), Honorable Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou, will be leading a high level Delegation to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The objective of the joint promotion mission is two pronged:

· firstly, to promote the African Charter, exchange views, and share experiences with the Government of the DRC, and the major human rights stakeholders in the country on how to enhance the
enjoyment of human rights in the country; and

· secondly, to identify progress and challenges, and follow up on various reports/information before the African Commission regarding the human rights situation in the DRC. (more…)

 
123